Resolutions

New Year’s resolutions are tough to come up with. There’s the generic “get into shape” or “travel more” or “quit my job.” I have made all of these promises to myself at one point or another. I DID get into shape this past year, so that was successful. I did travel more last year than I have in the last five years and this past Christmas I finally applied for a passport, so I can only hope that my travels increase. I have also quit my job and am quite busy at a new one, while still keeping my eyes peeled for writing opportunities on a freelance basis. It wasn’t all fun- in fact I can recall months at a time that were downright miserable. But we pick ourselves up, don’t we? We suffer through the lot of it and keep our fingers crossed that we will eventually find our way through it.

I’d like to think that I have…in fact, I’ve realized that I’m moving into 2013 in all the right ways compared to how I entered 2012.

Nonetheless, this year I want to branch out of regular, ordinary, everyday resolutions- which, I suppose, is a resolution in itself. This year will be the year in which I resolve to take chances. This will be the year in which I do the things that I didn’t think I was capable of doing- risking it all. I’m going to put my heart on the line, I’m going to go for what I want 110%, and I’m not going to quit until I hit the end result. This year is going to be all about personal progress of the mind, body, and spirit. This year is all about growth and the adventures and freedoms and love that comes from stepping outside my personal boundaries that I have drawn up around myself. This year is letting go of the past and keeping my arms wide open for the future.

Bring it on, 2013.

Leave a Reply

