Finding Support

Well, I’ve done it. I have launched a personal website. Not just a blog, oh, no. A website of the marketing services I offer. But this isn’t going to be a blog about me and my business endeavors, oh no. You’re more than welcome to check me out of course, but if you’re interested in hiring me or passing me along to a friend, I think you’ll do it because you want to. This is going to be a blog about something that goes beyond an individual.

I have stressed it before, and I will stress it again- surround yourself with people that are good for you. For years, I have wanted to call my own shots and write my own stories. I was met with so much negativity regarding this dream that it was unbelievable. The more reoccurring negativity consisted of:

• You’ve never owned a business, you’ll have no idea how to run it
• You can’t possibly make enough money just by WRITING
• There are too many people out there doing the exact same thing you want to do
• You’re too young to start a business

For years, I let these people AND their thoughts control my decisions. After all, they were right. Weren’t they? I got a freelance job here or there, but it was by no means enough to live off of.

Then I met people who told me that, that was the wrong way of thinking- and my first problem. My second problem was that I was thinking too much. Would I be pushed to my limits? Yes. Would I have to learn how to do things I’m not comfortable with like save money and collect 1099s? Yes. Would I make little to no money? Possibly. But there is only one way to find out, they all said. Yes- I was finally surrounded by a group of people that believed in me- that didn’t look at me like I was crazy when I talked about freelancing on a beach in Bali.

But yesterday- phew! Yesterday, before I launched it, I was having a last minute meltdown. I was sick to my stomach as I poured over my words for the thousandth time, looking for mistakes (I’m a WRITER after all, how would it look if I didn’t write everything JUST SO?!) As I was scouring, I was also texting my eye of the hurricane and site designer: “Is the writing okay? Does it flow? Is it salsey without being salsey? I kind of want to vomit.”

You know what he told me? He said that I need to put it out there and let people critique it- that there probably are mistakes and that I will probably need to change things but that my site will evolve with me. He also sent me this gem as a follow up.

So I launched it. It’s out there. It isn’t perfect; I probably spelled something wrong or have an errant coma. However, at the end of the day, I have a group of individuals that support my decision and believe in me which is why it even got launched in the first place.

My advice to you is to find the people that encourage you to chase your dreams. Life is too short to be told something is impossible. Find the ones that push you outside your comfort zone and stick with them. THEY will be the ones that truly change your world.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

