Technology – Is it Making Us Less Natural?

We’re fairly visual creatures. In all honesty, my day tends to boil down into a series of senses. Smells that I remember, things I’ve tasted or touched and even seen. They trigger memories throughout my day. Some good. Some not so good. One of my favorite smells in the whole world? My dogs. I know, it’s kind of weird. But in the morning, we all wake up and give one another kisses and sometimes I just bury my nose deep into their scruff and breathe. They smell like sweat and sunshine and happiness. Then again, I’m one of those weird dog people.

When I was younger, I’d pour through the family photo albums or the boxes overflowing with unsorted pictures of decades prior. Their edges were yellowed, the film was somewhat faded and many of the faces and places were ones I didn’t recognize. Yet, there was something so present about the past. It was something that I could see, even if I hadn’t been there.

Due to all of the boxes of photographs that my parents and grandparents have, I’m forced to wonder- what will kids today have to dig through?

We live in an age of technology. Just about every phone has a camera built right into it. Computers and tablets do, too. You can take photographs and videos anywhere you’re carrying your device. We upload these photos to SIM cards, online drives and new computers. We text them, upload them to Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Tumbler and Snapchat. This begs the question: when was the last time your kids or nieces and nephews crawled into your lap and asked you to give them the story behind a photo of yours that they found? Where did they find it? Was it a great photo that had been Photoshopped and filtered before it was posted? Are they seeing YOU exactly how you really are?

Those old pictures I would go through- they were natural. Pale white skin on a summer day, squished into a lawn chair and sipping from a can. Smiles and sweat stained shirts following a game of tennis, rackets happily tossed over shoulders in casual abandon. Mid-sentence with mouth wide open and eyes half closed at the family Thanksgiving dinner, gesturing wildly with a turkey leg in one hand and a fork in the other. Are those photos that people can just FIND of you simply by stumbling across them? Or is that the you that you aren’t as comfortable sharing?

Is this okay, or should we be more willing to laugh at ourselves and our terrible photos?

I think that for all the technology- for the ability that we have to show ourselves to the world- we sure are camera shy.

This just goes to show that while technology has benefited us greatly, it has also managed to break down the lines of communication in ways we never counted on. It has made us less comfortable in something as simple as being ourselves. What are additional lines of communication that have been broken down since the age of technology and what remedies have you found to counter them?

Leave a Reply

